Sunday, 27 January 2008

Twiglet on Ice

Today (possibly subliminally influenced by Celebrity Dancing on Ice, heaven help me), we went ice skating. Granny enthusiastically endorsed this idea and she and Granpa came along. Ian refused to set foot on ice. When I was younger I used to be pretty good at skating but minutes after stepping on ice it was clear it was not the sort of skill that, like riding a bike, would come right back to you. I was petrified. Unlike Granpa, who has no fear, or no sense. Off he sped, at one point even managing to go backwards, I think it was even deliberate. Charlotte was not sure at all. She did really well but not being a patient person was frustrated that she couldn't do it like they do on the telly. I was pleased that I didn't fall down, unlike mum who did and couldn't get up again and much to her mortification had to be helped up by a Steward.



2 comments:

Amelia said...

You are so very brave! Looks like fun though, maybe more fun than it actually was, as many things are.

Sheonagh said...

Fun - yes
Scary - yes
Practice required - definitely

Next mission - Ian on ice....